Confused About Non-GMO vs. Organic

Seems I wasn’t the only one confused about these terms. I did some research and although I can’t be absolutely certain I got this right (please correct me if I’ don’t), but this is my understanding:


  • Non – GMO means seed were not genetically modified (to resist heat or pests, etc.)
  • Organic means not only were the not GMO seeds, but ALSO not sprayed with any chemicals while they were growing
  • Conventional means that you don’t know if its GMO or not and it likely (but not always) was sprayed with stuff
  • Local – may not be labeled organic because of cost of proving they are, but very well could be

* I also read that the ONLY potentially GMO seed in use in US are crooked neck squash

Leave a Reply

