Sometimes You Feel Like a Nut, Sometimes You Don’t!

Screen Shot 2013-02-01 at 9.12.31 PMThank you to my niece, Caileigh, for sharing these on her Facebook page from Detoxinista . I absolutely LOVE chocolate and coconut and especially having them together! These look easy, delicious and are not too bad for you. The top three, in my book! I wish I had some chocolate chips right now so I could make them, but sadly, I can’t keep them in the house because I will eat them straight from the bag :-(.  Enjoy yours with or without an almond on top,  depending on whether or not you feel like a nut!

Mounds Bar Truffles
makes 8 pieces

Ingredients:

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
2 tablespoons coconut oil
1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon water
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of fine sea salt
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (You can also substitute  carob chips)

Directions:

In a medium bowl, combine the shredded coconut, coconut oil, honey, water, vanilla and salt, and mix well. Allow the mixture to rest for 5-10 minutes, so that the dried coconut will absorb some of the moisture.

Using a tablespoon or cookie scoop, drop the coconut mixture onto a plate lined with parchment paper, creating bite-sized mounds. (The mounds will be fragile at this point, but will firm up soon!)

 

